Innovating research, policy and education in synthetic and systems biology

People

SynthSys embraces an ever-growing community interested in applying synthetic and systems biology to address a diversity of challenging research questions.

Principal Investigators

 

Prof Rosalind Allen

Royal Society  Research Fellow and Reader in Biological Physics, School of Physics and Astronomy

rallen2@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Biophysics, Systems Biology

 

Prof Manfred Auer

Professor of Translational Biology, School of Biological Sciences

manfred.auer@ed.ac.uk

Microscopy, BioPhysics, Drug discovery technologies, Tool compounds

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Paul Barlow

Professor of Structural Biology, School of Biological Sciences

paul.barlow@ed.ac.uk

Protein structure, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, immunology, complement system

 

Prof Adrian Bird

Buchanan Professor of Genetics, School of Biological Sciences

a.bird@ed.ac.uk

Epigenetics, neurodevelopmental disorders

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Sara Buonomo

Lecturer in Epigenetics, School of Biological Sciences

Sara.Buonomo@ed.ac.uk

Mammalian Synthetic Biology

 

Dr Jane Calvert

Reader in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies

jane.calvert@ed.ac.uk

Synthetic Biology, Synthetic Aesthetics, Social Dimensions

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Elise Cachat

Lecturer in Synthetic Biology, School of Biological Sciences

Elise.Cachat@ed.ac.uk

 

Dr Scott Cockroft

Senior Lecturer in Organic Chemistry, School of Chemistry

scott.cockroft@ed.ac.uk

Organic Biochemistry

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Dominic Campopiano

Chair of Industrial Biocatalysis, School of Chemistry

dominic.campopiano@ed.ac.uk

Organic Biochemistry

 

Prof Vincent Danos

Chair of Computational Systems Biology, School of Informatics

vdanos@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Modelling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Jamie Davies

Professor of Experimental Anatomy, Centre for Integrative Physiology

jamie.davies@ed.ac.uk

Developmental Biology, Tissue Engineering

 

 

Dr Katherine Dunn

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering: Synthetic Biology, School of Engineering

K.Dunn@ed.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Bill Earnshaw

Professor of Chromosome Dynamics, School of Biological Sciences

bill.earnshaw@ed.ac.uk

Epigenetics, Mammalian Synethic Biology

 

Prof Alistair Elfick

Personal Chair of Synthetic Biological Engineering, School of Engneering

alistair.elfick@ed.ac.uk

Synthetic Biology, Synthetic Aesthetics

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Meriem El Karoui

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

meriem.elkaroui@ed.ac.uk

Modelling, Microscopy, DNA repair, e coli

 

Prof Charles Ffrench-Constant

Director; Professor of Multiple Sclerosis Research, Centre for Regenerative Medicine

cffc@ed.ac.uk

Mammalian Synthetic Biology

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Chris French

Personal Chair of Microbial Biotechnology, School of Biological Sciences

c.french@ed.ac.uk

Biosensors, Microbial Biotechnology, DNA Assembly, biomass conversion, biocatalysis

 

 

Prof Peter Ghazal

Chair of Molecular Genetics and Biomedicine, Division of Infection and Pathway Medicine

p.ghazal@ed.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Andrew Goryachev

Chair in Computational Cell Biology, School of Biological Sciences

agoryach@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Budding Yeast, Modelling, Microscopy, Signal transduction, BioPhysics, pattern formation, cellular morphogenesis, computational cell biology

 

 

Dr Sander Granneman

Wellcome Trust RCD Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

sgrannem@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Budding Yeast, RNA Structure, degradation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Sebastian Greiss

Chancellor’s Fellow, Centre for Integrative Physiology

s.greiss@ed.ac.uk

 

 

Dr Ramon Grima

Reader, School of Biological Sciences

ramon.grima@ed.ac.uk

Modelling stochastic processes

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Karen Halliday

Reader, School of Biological Sciences

karen.halliday@ed.ac.uk

Modelling, Plant Synthetic Biology

 

Prof Kevin Hardwick

Professor of Cell Biology, School of Biological Sciences

Kevin.Hardwick@ed.ac.uk

Mitosis, yeast

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Louise Horsfall

Lecturer in Biotechnology, School of Biological Sciences

louise.horsfall@ed.ac.uk

Industrial Biotechnology, Synthetic Biology, biomanufacturing, resource efficiency, bioremediation, biomass degradation, novel enzymes, nanoparticles

 

Dr Tilo Kunath 

Chancellor's Fellow, Centre for Regenerative Medicine

Tilo.Kunath@ed.ac.uk

Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, Parkinson's

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Gary Loake

Professor of Molecular Plant Sciences, School of Biological Sciences

gloake@ed.ac.uk

Mechanisms of neurodegeneration 

 

Dr Alistair McCormick

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

alistair.mccormick@ed.ac.uk

Plant Synthetic Biology

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Filippo Menolascina

Chancellor's Fellow Institute of Bioengineering School of Engineering

Filippo.Menolascina@ed.ac.uk

Specialties: Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, Systems Biology, Synthetic Biology, Control Theory

 

 

Prof Andrew Millar

Chair of Systems Biology, School of Biological Sciences

andrew.millar@ed.ac.uk

Systems Biology, Biological Clocks, Modelling, Plant Synthetic Biolog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Dr Naomi Nakayama

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

naomi.nakayama@ed.ac.uk

Plant Synthetic Biology, Biomechanics and synthetic morphology

 

Dr Luke McNally

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Bioogical Sciences

Luke.Mcnally@ed.ac.uk

Systems Biology, Bioinformatics, Modelling

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Teuta Pilizota

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

teuta.pilizota@ed.ac.uk

Microscopy, BioPhysics, Bacterial stress response, bacterial physiology

 

Dr Steve Pollard

Reader, MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine

steven.pollard@ed.ac.uk

Stem Cell Biology

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Nikola Popovic

Senior Lecturer, School of Mathematics

Nikola.Popovic@ed.ac.uk

Modelling,  Multi-scale dynamics, Dynamical Systems

 

Dr Leonardo Rios Solis

Lecturer in Synthetic Biology and Biochemical Engineering, School of Engineering

Leo.Rios@ed.ac.uk

Modelling,  Multi-scale dynamics, Dynamical Systems

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Prof Susan Rosser

Chair of Synthetic Biology, School of Biological Sciences, Co Director Edinburgh Genome Foundry

susan.rosser@ed.ac.uk

Synthetic Biology; bacteria, yeast and mammalian cell systems

 

Dr Guido Sanguinetti

Reader in Machine Learning  Institute for  Adaptive and Neural Computation School  of Informatics

gsanguin@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Modelling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Linus Schumacher

Chancellor's Fellow, Centre for Regenerative Medicine

Linus.Schumacher@ed.ac.uk

Computaioal Biology, Tissue regeneration Development & Regeneratuin

 

Dr Abdenour Soufi

Chancellor’s fellow, MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine

Abdenour.Soufi@ed.ac.uk

Mammalian Synthetic Biology

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Adam Stokes

Lecturer, Institute for Integrated Micro and Nano Systems,School of Engineering

Adam.Stokes@ed.ac.uk

Microfabrication, Sensor Networks, Stretchable and Flexible Electronic Systems, Bioinspired Soft Robotics and Embodied Simulations.

 

 

Prof Peter Swain

SULSA Chair of Systems Biology, School of Biological Sciences

peter.swain@ed.ac.uk

Systems Biology, Synthetic Biology, Budding Yeast, Modelling, Microscopy, Signal transduction

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Tom Thorne

Chancellor's Fellow , School of Informatics

 

Applications of statistical methodologies to problems in Systems Biology and Bioinformatics

 

Prof Joyce Tait 

Director Innogen Institute

joyce.tait@ed.ac.uk

Governance & Regulation, regenerative medicine, drug development, advanced plat biotechnology, Innovation strategies, stakeholder engagement

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Niki Vermeulen

Lecturer in history/sociology of science Science Technology and Innovation Studies, School of Social and Political Science

niki.vermeulen@ed.ac.uk

Systems Biology, Science & Innovation policy

 

Dr Edward Wallace

Sir Henry dale Fellow

School of Biological Sciences

Edward.Wallace@ed.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Stephen Wallace

Lecturer in Biotechnology, School of Biological Sciences

stephen.wallace@ed.ac.uk

biotechnology, synthetic biology, whole-cell biocatalysis, bioconjugation chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry

   

 

Dr Bartek Waclaw

RSE Research Fellow, School of Physics and Astronomy

bwaclaw@staffmail.ed.ac.uk

Biophysics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Dr Baojun Wang

Chancellor's Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

Baojun.Wang@ed.ac.uk

Synthetic biology and biotechnology: biosensing, bioprocessing and biotherapy

 

Dr Julie Welburn

Senior Research Fellow, School of Biological Sciences

Julie.Welburn@ed.ac.uk

molecular motors, in vitro reconstitution, structural biology, chromosome segregation